On Being Tired. On Lack of Sleep.

I am having a lot of trouble sleeping. I often fall asleep fairly quickly, but then the slightest thing wakes me. They I lie awake, staring at the ceiling, or toss and turn trying to get comfortable. I tend to have a lot of pain in my neck, and headaches, which may or may not be related. Getting comfortable is not easy.

Generally, after 10 or 15 minutes of this, I get up. I go into the living room to read or go online. Sometimes I stand at the slider and stare out at the stars. If it’s not too freezing, I like to go out on the deck and look at the sky. I can usually see Orion, and the Little Dipper.

Often I am awake until midnight or later. I can sometimes play a game on the computer until my eyes want to close. Then I go back to bed, and either fall asleep, or not. It’s the “not” that is most frustrating. I sometimes have to get up a second time, and that is tough, because I have to be at work at 8 a.m..

Many days I struggle to keep my eyes open. Today is one of those days. I am so tired I want to cry. I realize this is a common issue for women in “the middle years”, but it is very hard to deal with. It does not seem to matter what I eat/drink in the evening. It doesn’t matter if I spray my sheets with lavender, or meditate before going to bed. It is what it is what it is, and I am sick, sick, sick of it.

Tags: , , , , ,

14 Responses to “On Being Tired. On Lack of Sleep.”

  1. Corina Says:

    Try to forget it. The more you think about it, the worse it will be.

    I read until I can’t keep my eyes open then reach up and turn out the bedside lamp, with my eyes closed, and drift off.

  2. nanis Says:

    I used to do that, but I don’t want to keep John awake. Maybe I will anyway.

  3. kmcdade Says:

    So sorry you’re having trouble. Being on the computer is probably NOT the best thing — I’ve heard that staying off the computer for 2 hours before bed can be helpful. I don’t do that most of the time — but I do read myself to sleep, like Corina.

  4. Shawn W Says:

    I’ve always had trouble sleeping, even as an infant. If it worries you, see your doctor. There are drugs that can help, without the hangover or dependencies.

  5. Jackie Says:

    Lifelong insomniac here. Used to just be problems getting to sleep; now it’s trouble staying asleep, too. Plus, I’m a natural night owl.

    I was taking Xanax for a long time, but I feel like such a failure for having to take meds to get to bed. I should probably start taking it again. I’m sleeping too late in the morning.

  6. nanis Says:

    All good thoughts, people. I have tried some meds, and take Simply Sleep (Tylenol PM without the Tylenol) every nite, but it does not help.

    Like you, Jackie, I find it hard to get up in the morning. My best sleep comes after 4 a.m., so 7:00 comes way too soon.

  7. thelittlefluffycat Says:

    Nancy, sorry this is so late — someday I will learn how to use Google Reader properly. 😛 What I’ve found, lately, is that if I manage to get on the exercycle during the day like I’m supposed to, I sleep like someone knocked me on the head. Even if I don’t want to. Also, it’s good to be bored before bed. If you’re going to read something, read something boring that you can brag about having read later. 😉

  8. nanis Says:

    Well, last summer I bought War and Peace, with all good intentions… Maybe it’s time to pull that out.

  9. thelittlefluffycat Says:

    Thereya go — what you got to exercise with? Anything quiet enough to watch TV?

  10. nanis Says:

    I just bought an exercise video. Got to start that tonite.

  11. thelittlefluffycat Says:

    Do but don’t overdo. Make sure you take an analgesic either before or after. It’s taken me this age to work up to being able to do two fifteen minute stretches, and I still don’t do them every day like I’m supposed to.

  12. Mike Says:

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  13. jonjonjon Says:

    Maybe it runs in the family ’cause I can only get about 3-5 hours a night!! I’m hoping it comes in handy when we have babies!! HAHAHA!! Rhea is passed out on the couch right now and has been for 2 hours. I’m envious of people who can fall asleep as soon as their head hits the pillow and be out for 8-9 hours. I’m married to one!! Maybe I’ll go wake her up!! NA, Just kidding!!

    For me reading works every time. Buy a little book light so John can still get some shut eye. They have some pretty good ones that actually direct the light just on the page!! I think you think to much too!! Try to get rid of some anxiety. I write or pretend to have conversations in my head (does that make me crazy?).

  14. nanis Says:

    Oh, yeah, the conversations in the head thing. I do that, for sure. (-;

Leave a Reply

