A Very Strange Dream

Last night, or early this morning, to be more precise, I had a very odd dream. I am currently trying to sell my house, and full of thoughts on what I’d buy if I could, etc., so this dream is not surprising in concept, but the details are way out there.

The dream:

We bought a house, fully furnished, in an unfamiliar area. The house was a huge old New England mansion of sorts… white clapboard on the outside, and countless rooms inside. The house was somewhat rundown, but beautiful in a way.  I can still see the interior in my mind. We entered through the back door, and there was, immediately, a bedroom. That was strange. I figured we could change it to a family room. We passed through numerous rooms, all interconnected in a bizarre way. There must have been 8 or 10 bedrooms of varying sizes, some with king-sized beds, some single, and some bunk beds. A few of my friends were there, and they went about claiming rooms. The whole set up was odd, as you had to go through rooms to get to other rooms. I do not recall a single hallway.

The rooms were all fully decorated. Some of the beds had frilly bedspreads, and others were rather stark. There was a kitchen, somewhat old fashioned.

We decided to explore the neighborhood. Our house was on Keith Street (no clue where that came fromI don’t even know a Keith), and had a big stone wall in the front. We walked to a little downtown area, with tennis courts and a community pool. We entered a clubhouse, and found ourselves in a maze of shops and bars and restaurants, and it was dark. Everyone was Hispanic (I am not). We found a place (arena?) where men were playing what appeared to be lacrosse , but when I asked a player, he said “We are trying to kill each other”. After peeking through the windows, I realized he meant that literally. They were bashing one another with the sticks, and many were bruised and bleeding. I turned away, not wanting to watch.

We wandered on, and realized we were in a very dangerous part of town, and we were being stalked by gangs of men. We tried hiding behind partitions, and sneaking through dark doorways. This seemed to go on for the longest time. Finally, we came to a store (the interior was like Macy’s!) and a woman offered to help us. She showed us a way out, and asked a young Hispanic couple to help us.

We managed to get back to the house, but some of the Hispanic men were there.  One seemed to be the leader, and he had a young son with him. I figured I should make friends with him, so I offered him a back bedroom with a full kitchen attached. I told him it would be a nice place for his son, and they would have their own space. He seemed pleased.

A problem arose when I could not find a bathroom. I searched and searched, all the while, getting more and more upset. Finally, the woman from the store told me there was one, and she took me there. She warned me to be quiet, because I was not supposed to be there. I went in and sat on a really odd shaped toilet, and peed. When I was done, I still felt like I had to pee, so I sat there.  Someone else came in and made me leave.

I woke up and had to pee so bad I thought I’d die!

***************************************************************************

(Yeah, I know what that final bit is about, but what about the rest of it????)

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “A Very Strange Dream”

  1. Shawn W Says:

    This is a tough time to sell your home. I hope it goes well for you.

    I’d bet your dream reflects that feeling of being lost and at loose ends we all have when we’re about to move. These are dangeous times too, so you may not be feeling very safe about it.
    Unless you’re planning to move to California or Texas, I don’t know what the hispanic thing is about.😉

  2. Nancy Says:

    Nor do I, Shawn. I live in a very white bread town, and can honestly say I don’t even know any Hispanic people (shame on me). But perhaps you are right, and the entire “foreign-ness” is at play here.

  3. Jackie Says:

    I dunno, but– wild!

  4. pandemonic Says:

    Wow. That sounds scary…

  5. jojovtx1800 Says:

    I think you are apprehensive about selling your house, and what the new family will do to it once they move in. They will most certainly not decorate it, or use it like you did. You wander about lost in the new house, and the new neighborhood, signifying that you really did not want move, hence, the “lost” feeling. I think the Hispanics simply portray the intruders, or outsiders that will soon be living in “your” house, and everyone has concern for their old neighbors, and what the new tenants will be like. In a sense, there will be “foreign” people in your place.
    We all have comfort zones around us, so the confusion in the shopping area could be your having to learn new routes, and comfortable places to shop.
    The men trying to kill each other is significant of your inner turmoil right now, and should subside when things settle some.
    The bathroom, and having to pee thing stems from drinking right before bedtime. And, depending on what, and how much you drank, may be the simplest explaination for the whole dream.

  6. nanis Says:

    Wow! Thanks for taking the time for such an expansive answer. It seems sensible, and it rings true.

    Now, what the heck do I do about it?

  7. jojovtx1800 Says:

    Umm, don’t eat whatever it was you ate before going to bed that night.
    You do know I’m full of crap most of the time right?
    But most of that is based on some books I’ve read concerning dreams.
    That, and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last nite. 🙂

  8. nanis Says:

    Not crap. It really does ring true. I am indeed apprehensive.
    I love my home, and I am not a person who embraces change easily. So a move, especially to a new area to me, is a huge challenge.

    The anticipated move is more for financial reasons that anything else.

  9. virtualopinion Says:

    Sometimes it is difficult to believe what we see in our dreams. I too had a very strange dream recently which I have described in my blog. You are most welcome to share the same.

  10. Herechilln Says:

    Jojo’s right Nanis. Despite his claims to the contrary, he isn’t a crapped filled as he wants us to believe. I’ve always thought he was a lot smarter than he’s given himself credit for in the past. This time seems no different. Humbleness is another of his fine qualities and a big reason that I am proud to know him.
    Regardless, his theory lines up with everything that I know about you. That’s not much, I know. However, I do feel I know the important things about you. I know your general beliefs and also what you find to be important to you. He has hit the nail on the head, me thinks.

  11. Sassquatch Says:

    No more PCP before bedtime Nancy!

Leave a Reply

