A Weekend in Mystic, CT

We went to Mystic last weekend. This is an ideal weekend getaway, small town feel, a few worthwhile tourist sites, many hotels, great restaurants, Olde Mystik Village… lots to do in 2 or 3 days.

                                        img_1708.jpg

Above is Mystic Pizza, made famous by the movie of the same name;

Mystic Seaport, a wonderful maritime museum, with displays of ships and a recreated 19th century seaside village;

Wonderful little shops, both in Olde Mystik Village, and downtown:

                   img_1712.jpg                        img_1705.jpg

And lots of lighthouses, my personal favorite (I collect miniatures, and my house is decorated with photos, replicas, etc.):

    img_1696.jpg         img_1718.jpg         img_1690.jpg

If you live in New England, or are visiting, this is a neat little place to spend a few days, even in winter, because yes, it is damned cold.

Tags: , , , ,

14 Responses to “A Weekend in Mystic, CT”

  1. Vicky In The Middle Says:

    Looks like a beautiful place, and not very cold. I loved the book Mystic River, too.

  2. jojovtx1800 Says:

    This is nice, we passed through CT a few years ago and spent the day in Mystic, I love the Maritime Museum.

  3. kmcdade Says:

    Looks great! I used to love the movie Mystic Pizza.

  4. Shawn W Says:

    Hubby loves lighthouses. I’ll have to show him this.

  5. sue2 Says:

    This looks lovely. Anyplace that has lighthouses makes me happy!

  6. Stevo Says:

    The lighthouse photo is amazing. Lovely and lonely at the same time.

  7. nanis Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how many people love lighthouses! I am a bit obsessive, and whenever we travel, I seek them out, and take pictures. Many get enlarged and framed. Like Stevo says, they have an appeal that is both comforting and lonely.
    Thanks for commenting, all of you.

  8. lighthouse43 Says:

    Janie Says:

    I have always wanted to visit Mystic CT. I have passed it several times but have yet to stop. Thanks for sharing your pictures with us.

    My passion is lighthouses and there appears to be quite a few of us around.

  9. Corina Says:

    What a neat place to visit. One day, I will go. Thank you for the pictures. They made me want to be there.

  10. nanis Says:

    Corina, come and visit me, and I’ll take you there!

  11. thirdculturemom Says:

    Looks like a nice place. (Yes, I like lighthouses too.)

  12. Amoeboid Blurry Smile Says:

    That does look very cool. Unlike you and thirdculturemom, I have a thing for windmills. So, I ask: where there windmills there? (I also like museums so I’m sure I’d have liked it there even without windmills).

  13. nanis Says:

    The only windmills around here are the new modern ones that are more space-age than pretty. I’d love to see some of the ones in Holland – they look so pretty!

  14. Amoeboid Blurry Smile Says:

    My windmill fetish is pretty much a global fetish. I like the old ones and the new ones. I found a little one (for generating electricity) that is just a strip of vibrating plastic (so no rotation) and I think it is cool. It isn’t so much prettiness that attracts me to them. Though there is something about them that makes me think the word ‘elegant.’

    I’m liking the second picture best. For some reason, I was a little clueless about the fact that one can click on the pictures to see them full size. You’d think I’d know to do that. Well…I do. It just somehow didn’t cross my mind the first time.

Leave a Reply

