I Am A New Englander

Last week I was in California for my son’s wedding. The weather was beautiful. Flawless, actually.  We were able to eat outside on the deck at the hotel, looking at boats and ducks and hearing the sea lions.  The sun was shining on my back. I kept thinking, “I could live here”. But could I?

I am a New Englander at heart.  As I get older, I long for the warmth of the southern states.  But to not see snow in the winter? To not feel the frost in the air every Halloween?  And what about the ocean? Sure, California has the Pacific, but it’s not the same.  And in Georgia and Florida, there is certainly ocean, even Atlantic Ocean.  But it’s just not my ocean. 

To those who have never been here, I have to say, you must visit New England. Preferably not in February or March, but August? September? October? Incredible.  The brisk fall air is intoxicating.  And the summers are fun, too.  Cape Cod in the summertime is paradise.  And Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket are just a day trip away.

We are not far from the Berkshires, and the White Mountains. In three hours, I can be sitting by a mountain stream near Mount Washington, or sunning on the beach in Truro.

I can visit Newport, Rhode Island and tour the mansions from an era long past.  We have historical sites in abundance, including the birthplaces of numerous presidents and the landing place of the Pilgrims.  Norman Rockwell’s small town of Stockbridge is a few hours to the west.

In the wintertime, there is skiing and snowmobiling, for those who are so inclined. I can stand atop Mount Washington, home of the strongest wind ever recorded – 231 mph.  In winter it is impassable, but in summer, it is delightful.

We also have the very best seafood in the world.  Fresh Cod off the boats in Falmouth or New Bedford is unequalled by any warm water fish.  We have jumbo shrimp and fried clams.  Nothing better, I promise.

So I guess a New Englander I shall remain.  It would be nice, however, to spend the coldest, grayest months in Southern California.

Hmmm………………..

 

 

 

11 Responses to “I Am A New Englander”

  1. Bobby Goat GRUFF! Says:

    I feel that way about the place where I live too.

    There’s another thing about one’s place: the people. The people drive me crazy. But, I’m sure the people elsewhere would drive me crazier. There’s something about the people here being my people that I would miss.

  2. Suzy Says:

    I totally understand how you feel. I’ve always longed for warmer climates, but in the past few years, the autumns have sung to me.

  3. Corina Says:

    I think a lot of us are like that. I was born and raised in California and have never lived anywhere else. I like it here. However I like it other places too. I love Hawaii, not for the weather so much but for the way of life, the hang loose way of life. I have been to Boston and to Cape Cod. I loved it there, too. I like the ocean, like you, to look at and smell and be near but not to be in it or on it. I like snow, to look at but after last year’s misadventure in the snow, I don’t know if I ever want to be in it again.

  4. nanis Says:

    As I often say to my husband, there are pros and cons to every choice.
    Today, I want to be warm.

  5. Shawn W Says:

    I loved the ocean and the California weather, but there is something about the Dallas skyline at night that touches my very soul. *sigh* Home is simply home.

  6. thelittlefluffycat Says:

    Home is more complex than a place–or even a people–but it is good when you can say “I have learned to be content in whatever state I am in.” 🙂

  7. jojovtx1800 Says:

    I am an East coaster as well, just not so far north, I like California, but I love my part of the world, and its a little more temperate here than it is in New England.

  8. TheOtherIvy Says:

    Sounds beautiful. I would be more Easterly if it weren’t for the people here. (A summer home, though….)

  9. Clare Stella Says:

    What a great article that really captures the essence of living in New England. There is nothing like the ocean here. I, too, have been to California but still prefer New England. Just reading your words has made me want to have a fried food platter at Woods Seafood in Plymouth.

  10. nanis Says:

    Oooh, let’s!

  11. Jon Says:

    You are such a fantastic writter! I really love your use of words and sentence structure!!!! Can you please stop the delay and write a book already!! A book of short stories or your life!! Both!!!! What I know of writting, especially creatively I learned from you and I think it’s high time you published something. Maybe a how-to book about writing!!!

Leave a Reply

